Skip to content

Laboring.

September 8, 2009
LBI, NJ

LBI, NJ

I’m back from a long weekend, the last one of its kind at LBI, to say goodbye to summer and hello to homework, studying, jeans, and clouds. I’m deep in the middle of laundry, schoolbooks, and season one of True Blood (which, if you aren’t already watching, you should run, not walk, to your Netflix queue amend this immediately).

We had:

  • lots of clouds but one perfect beach day of dolphins in the surf and unadulterated sunshine
  • a two-hour Monopoly game that resulted in no less than 7 separate fights between my family
  • three shopping trips to Target, Costco, bookstores, and two different food stores
  • a day trip to Atlantic City where I lost $20 in approximately .44 seconds at a slot machine

All in all, it was fantastic. I finished reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, which was just as wonderful as I knew it would be when I started it. And then I left it there. And it’s a library book. I love rules and deadlines and I don’t know how to live with myself now.

Unfortunately, this book came today and I can no longer procrastinate my review:

150-198

To get licensed to be a teacher, you have to take the Praxis II test in your endorsement area. It’s a test of 150 questions to assess your mastery of the subject, and on pretty much everything I learned about biology in college. I’m not whining (ha) but it’s a lot to review for my goal to take it in November. Here we go, I HAVE to open it tonight or I can’t have dessert.

I’ve decided to start with plant anatomy and physiology, because I hate plants and the thought of reviewing immunology, genetics, and microbiology might keep me pushing through.

Have I bored you yet??

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

