Skip to content

Cooking with pumpkin

October 30, 2009

Usually by Halloween weekend I’ve made at least 3 different pumpkin recipes that have kept me insulated and on a sugar high during the first few weeks of fall.

This year, the Giant’s empty shelves week after week have kept me free of any sort of pumpkin baking. A tragedy. Last year’s nationwide pumpkin harvest was poor, leading to a decline in this year’s canned pumpkin stock. In fact, for the first time since August, the Giant carried limited cans of pumpkin on Sunday—-don’t worry, I purchased no fewer than 5.

libbys-canned-pumpkin-de

Hey, a girl’s gotta ascertain her pumpkin bread, cookies, and cakes this fall.

This weekend, once I stop shaking from candy and fast-food binges (sorry, Mom), I’ll make the first inaugural batch of pumpkin cookies and share them with you here. Once you’ve had them, there’s no going back.

In the meantime, I’ll share some of my favorite other blogger’s recipes that feature pumpkin:

Ree, the Pioneer Woman’s “Moist Pumpkin Spice Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting”

Nicole, of Pinch My Salt’s “Pumpkin Roll”

Elise, of Simply Recipes, “Pumpkin Biscotti”

and Deb of Smitten Kitchen, “Pumpkin Swirl Brownies.”

The moral of the story is (a) cooking with pumpkin is divine [save pumpkin pie, which I mysteriously detest], (b) when you see pumpkin in your grocery store, buy it. Because otherwise, you might find a recipe like Paula Deen’s Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cakes and be stuck without the most crucial ingredient. And then you would cry and feel so sorry for your pumpkinless self.

It’s a crisis easily averted.

One Comment leave one →
  1. sandysays1 permalink
    October 31, 2009 12:33 pm

    Damn, you make me hungry! I shouldn’t be either because I’m getting towards 75 lbs. If I’m not carefull, I’ll begin looking like my human. (That’s like an over-inflated weather balloon. Visit my site to see why humans invented Halloween – http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com and for a laugh or two.

Leave a Reply

