Skip to content

Crises in editing

November 16, 2009

I love deadlines and hate disrespecting them. Work lately has been a bear; my week will be a lesson in learning to cope when others affect your performance and trying to stay calm in the face of mounting stress and pressure. Sometimes I want to throw up my hands and toss my red pens out the window and scream, but I’ll try to remain composed and gracious and smiling the whole time. We’ll see how long this lasts.

Not sure how prolific I’ll be this week, as I’m teaching a lesson on extremophiles and adaptations to my grad class tonight for part of my final, finishing up final reflection and research papers, and trying to get ready for a Thanksgiving dinner on Sunday, a Cavs/Wizard’s game Wednesday, and oh yeah, working my ass to get an issue to the printer.

In the meantime, Indy, Emmy, and Lexa have made my morning slightly less stressful, and I’ll leave you with their precious photos from The Daily Puppy.

indy-the-golden-retriever_37054_2009-11-16_w450

emmy-the-miniature-schnauzer_37506_2009-11-15_w450

lexa-the-border-collie_35747_2009-11-14_w450

Awww. I already feel a bit better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gilly permalink
    November 16, 2009 2:14 pm

    Gilly, did you ruin the magazine deadlines and cause Laura to start graying prematurely?

    Uh huh. Yeah. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

