Skip to content

Jersey Shore: Hate or love?

December 16, 2009

OK here’s some things about Jersey Shore.


1. It’s hilarious. See any of the remixes of quotes put together by NY Mag. Our favorites?

  • “I had a feeling where I wanted to make out with somebody, so, um, I just made out with Ryder, because all the guys like that.”Nicole “Snooki”
  • “I feel like this is beneath me. I’m a bartender. I do great things.”Angelina “Jolie”
  • “Time to get some Ron Ron Juice in my system.”Ronnie
  • “I feel like eating ham and drinking water. Ham. [*raspberry noise*]”JWOWW

2. I know people like that. They sit next to me on the beach, shop in Ron Jon’s, and eat at the deli.

3. It takes place 20 minutes from where our house is in LBI.

4. Does it give Jersey a bad name? Perhaps, for those people who don’t know about the vast differences in shore points. Does it stereotype? Definitely. Are they true? Yes.

[See map below for quick geographical lesson on Jerz beaches, however it’s not inclusive.]

5. This blog post on cracked expresses that it’s not that people might think that is what Jersey is really like, that makes the show so bad—the writer asserts that there is a huge fear that these kinds of people will see this, and think it’s a great idea to come hang out in Jersey next summer.

I’m not worried that normal, thinking human beings will see the show and think “That must be what Jersey is like.” I’m worried that idiots will see the show and think “Finally! A place where I can be with others! I’m gonna spend my summers in Jersey now, too!”

This is a legitimate concern. Some Jersey shore points have enough of this without recruiting more.

Either way, no matter the violence, stereotypes, Jersey portraying, etc. etc., it’s the ridiculous seven people on this show that make it what it is—not Jersey, the t-shirt shop, or the go carts on the boardwalk. It’s the fact that there’s a hot tub on the roof, crazy Italians, and alcohol all mixing together for one beautiful, sacred, precious hour every Thursday night.

The only downside is that we’re going to have to wait until at least next fall for another season, unless they send these people to a ski resort somewhere for a winter special of some kind. As long as Jersey Shore stays in Seaside, and doesn’t move to any neighboring shore points, I’m good. It’s good. Go watch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

