Skip to content

Why does the end of ’09 feel so significant?

December 30, 2009

Is it just me?

Is it because we’ve had so much restructuring at work in the past few months, with frequent upheavals, shockers, and sad changes, that I just want a fresh start?

Is it because it’s not just the end of a year, but the end of a decade?

Maybe it’s just because we’re in the middle of this stupid week between Christmas and New Year’s that feels like a limbo.

I don’t know what it is, but something has me itching for January to just GET here already. There’s some weird sadness and finality that’s been following me around lately and I need to shake it.

My new year’s resolution for 2010 is to declutter my life and to keep it simple. And also have more fun and get back to being more generally awesome. I got rid of some excess emotional baggage I’ve been carrying around for far too long in these past few weeks, and I am pumped to leave it all behind. If you have unfinished business or loose ends, either let it go or tie them up before we move on. Cut the crap. Trim the fat. Moveon.org. Do whatever you have to do.

The end of the year means nothing, really, but it also means everything, depending on how you look at it. A new 12-month calendar to hang. A new job title effective 1/1. A new decade, the next 10 years of which will take us to 2020. That sounds like simple math, but in 2020 I will be 35.

That scares me to death.

I encourage you to ponder what a new year means to you. It’s melancholy to leave behind a decade and inspiring to start a new one. We have the present and only the present. The future doesn’t exist yet, and the past no longer exists. You just have this next moment, the next minute, the next day to do what you want to do. If you didn’t do it in 2000, 2003, 2006, 2009—there’s always tomorrow. There’s 2010.

I like the way 2010 looks for L. Big things. I’m going to go ahead and thank the universe for them now, because I’m that confident they’re already on their way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. myriiiam permalink
    December 30, 2009 4:37 pm

    Hey there. I cannot even tell you how much i can relate to what you have just written, except that i might be younger than you (17), i feel the same things. New Year never meant anything to me really, just another day. But lately i have been feeling like time is passing to quickly, like life is passing me by. I have so many dreams and ambitions that it sometimes overwhelms me. I know, its weird.
    Anyway, i like your post, feel free to check out my blog. =)

Trackbacks

  1. 6 days in « life needs edits

Leave a Reply

