Skip to content

Vices and guilty pleasures

January 4, 2010

We all have vices. I like to call them guilty pleasures, though, because other than my penchant for using butter in my cooking and baking things that go right on my hips and thighs that I don’t really need to eat but that taste delicious and sooth my soul over not having a boyfriend, they aren’t that detrimental to my health or immoral.

A friend once got me this postcard:

…which is still on my wall.

Wine, chocolate, cheese, bacon—food and drink-related guilty pleasures pretty much top my list. However, I have a few others out there that should be revealed for the sake of honesty.

Especially the one that makes itself a good 30 minutes of my day, and has for the past 15 years.

One time, my mom started a new job at a new dental office where she was a hygienist. She was chatting with some of the other ladies in the break room on her first day, where they told her in a way that accepted no protests, “We eat lunch from 1-2 during which time we watch All My Children. OK?”

It was a done deal. She couldn’t do anything but eat her PB&J and welcome Erica Kane into her life. And as for me, we’ll I’ve been watching it pretty much since the womb. I know character histories and Pine Valley plotlines that go back to the early nineties, as soon as my memory was fully developed. Tad, Dixie, Brooke, Edmund, Maria, Hayley, Mateo, Greenlee, Ryan, Adam, Dimitri, David, Liza, Bianca, Jackson, Kendall—these people were/are my friends. I have cried and laughed at this show more than I’d like to admit.

So there’s my big secret. I’m out of the closet. I’m a soap opera junkie and I’m proud of it. I love the residents of Pine Valley as if they were my own messed up family.

Tomorrow, All My Children turns 40. Thank you, Agnes Nixon. I could go on about how it really is good writing and sophisticated (ha) character development, but most of you would just laugh. So just know how much I love it and that if you criticize me or make a soap opera joke to my face, I’ll punch you.

Watch this fun video, if you care to, about old clips from 40 years worth of drama (Erica Kane started in black and white!), amnesia, love triangles, marriages, people coming back from the dead, and other totally realistic happenings out of a fictional town which just happens to be situated specifically where my actual hometown is located.

I’m pretty sure I’ll need at least 13 tissues to watch the 40th anniversary episode tomorrow. Yeah, I know.

Leave a Reply

