Skip to content

6 days in

January 6, 2010

It’s just 6 days into the decade and already I’ve lost that ridiculously chirpy and surprisingly pensive attitude.

Whaaa happened????

Let’s see. It’s been windy, I’ve been disproportionately tired, my friends and coworkers have officially left the office, normal TV hasn’t come back on and I miss Modern Family and Parks and Rec, and some of my post-holiday gifts to myself from astonishingly low sale prices have yet to arrive. Waaaah.

Also on the one night I went out so far to meet a boy I didn’t get past the C. in the C.O.U.R.T.N.E.Y. system and I’ve been feeling less than shiny and new. Like I expected something exciting to happen at 12:01 a.m. on 1/1 and the best thing to happen to me that day was the discovery of a plate of Italian subs, of which I ate four.

Upon reevaluation I’ve decided that I’m thinking waaaay too big picture. Approaching everything with a whole new-decade attitude isn’t really helpful; it’s not keeping me focused on the present. Even just approaching 2010 as a new year is too much for me right now. I need to take it smaller. One month at a time. One day at a time.

So maybe I will try weekly resolutions, to make it easier to handle. This week:

  1. I’ll not say mean things about myself in my head.
  2. I’ll put lotion on my hands every time I wash them so I don’t get yelled at next week about dry cuticles from my manicurist.
  3. I will plan something fun for my friends to do (bowling tonight, check!)….and I won’t be competitive or a sore loser (hmm, harder than that sounds).
  4. I’ll finish up season 1 of Friday Night Lights
  5. I’ll celebrate a friend’s birthday this weekend however she wants.
  6. Again, I’ll try to meet a boy when out this weekend but won’t take it as a reflection in the decade if I don’t.
  7. I’ll brave the wind and try to convince myself deep down that it’s really impossible for humans of my size to blow away. Really.

Weekly goals are good. I think I can handle this.

In a related note, Happy Birthday to my most beautiful and spectacular mother. You are, truly, da best.

Leave a Reply

