Skip to content

Chicken and veggies

January 21, 2010

I had been dying to use my new Le Creuset dutch oven (which you can’t used on flat-topped stoves, LAME). I found this recipe in Cooking Light for a roasted chicken with veggies and decided it was quick and easy enough for me to make.

However, I sort of morphed the recipe into the lazy person’s roast chicken, as I was tired yesterday and…lazy. I also figured out how to set the automatic timer on the oven, so when I woke up from my nap I had a beautiful roasted chicken and veggies to eat.

Here’s Cooking Light’s picture (I was too lazy yesterday to even go get my camera):

And here is my modified, lazy person roast chicken breast with potatoes and squash:

  • some minced garlic, however much you likey
  • 3-4 chicken breasts, thick ones
  • red potatoes, cut into 4s
  • 1/2 a butternut squash, cubed
  • ground sage
  • salt and pepper
  • about 2 tbsp of melted butter
  • 1 onion, sliced

Cut up the red potatoes into wedges, and the butternut squash into cubes. Slice up an onion. Throw them all in the bottom of the dutch oven or roasting pan. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and melted butter. On top, place chicken breasts seasoned with ground sage, salt, pepper, and garlic. You can really add any spices you like.

Cook at 375 for about an hour and 15 minutes or until your chicken is done. Eat and enjoy.

[Either I was really hungry last night or I didn’t throw in enough veggies, because I ate almost the entire portion for dinner last night. Throw in waay more veggies than you think you need.]

Leave a Reply

