Skip to content

The cake balls.

January 25, 2010

I did not make these up. I’m not the first to make them.

But I should NOT be the last, because man alive are these things delicious.

Bake a cake, let it cool, crumble it up. Mix in about 3/4 a tub of icing. Form into balls. Put in the freezer for an hour or two.

Melt chocolate on the stove, dip the balls into the chocolate and let cool.

Be absolutely astonished at how something so seemingly easy and obvious could taste so amazingly good.

Try to decorate them like Bakerella, or just give up and serve them plain.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    January 26, 2010 11:24 am

    Thanks for putting this up!!!

  2. Jessa permalink
    January 26, 2010 7:04 pm

    I made them last night!!!!!!!

    (ps- my first dessert i have ever made without the help of my mom)

  3. January 26, 2010 7:47 pm

    YAY! So glad you made them. They are seriously, dangerously deadly.

  4. Colleen permalink
    February 27, 2010 12:52 pm

    now I see it! I do them a little differently. I don’t use a stick and I put the whole tub of frosting in with the cake. I mean honestly if you are going to put 3/4 in you might as well put the whole thing in!

  5. May 17, 2010 1:36 pm

    I would agree: cake balls are the best kept secret in the world of baking. They are absolutely delicious and the combinations are endless! I love cake balls sooo much I dedicated an entire blog to them check it out: http://cakeballz.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

