Skip to content

V-day

January 27, 2010

Vom day!

No, I’m just kidding. With Valentine’s Day approaching in just a few weeks, I thought I’d cheer myself up by reminding myself why having a boyfriend is overrated and also picking out things I might get for my own special valentine this year, ME.

[In all seriousness, I don’t really like to participate in the single girl, Valentine-bashing, wah wah, woe is me, I am lonely and no one loves me talk. It doesn’t get anyone anywhere, and wearing black on V-day and scowling at happy couples around you doesn’t make you any less single or happy about it, so why bother? Instead I’ll send my friends love notes and eat chocolate Reese’s cups and wear red in the spirit of hope and wishful thinking because you just never know.]

And besides, the moratorium on shopping is killing me softly with its torture, so I can’t neglect PB, C&B, and W-S anymore. They think there is something wrong and are sending me thousands of e-mails, the likes of which read “Why haven’t you gone to our site lately and clicked around dreamily for hours on end? We miss you! Come back!”

So first: Why I’m glad I don’t have a boyfriend this Valentine’s Day:

1. I can spend money on myself instead of a dumb boy.

2. I don’t have to shave my legs.

3. It’s a Sunday this year, so I can go about being my normal hungover self without having to worry about taking a shower or getting out of bed for someone else.

4. I’m a single lady, why restrict myself to just one date? Maybe that weekend I’ll have like…5. I’ll be in NYC, and can make all kinds of bad, inconsequential PLCs.

5. I don’t have to worry about whether to get a gift, what kind it should be, if we should go on a date that day or if it is too much pressure, how to find the perfect card, waiting to see if I’ll get flowers….etc. I will be worry free. I won’t have to eat dinner out somewhere that could only reserve a table at either 5:00 or 10:45 p.m. and I don’t have to pay for a fancy bottle of champagne…I can drink Andre instead!

(Have I made a good case, at all? Methinks not.)

And as for the things I will think of buying myself on 2/14:

1. These Anthropologie plates, presh!

2. I totally need this calzone maker, don’t you think?

(It’s only $12, too!)

3. The Canon Digital Rebel 12.2 mp digital SLR camera with lens.

Go big or go home, right? My self loves myself enough that this gift seems highly appropriate.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

