Skip to content

What am I looking for?

January 27, 2010
tags: ,

On last week’s Grey’s Anatomy (which, incidentally, I think I’m going to stop watching because it really sucks), the characters were debating which was more important to them in life, and which they would choose if they had to choose only one: surgery (their “gift”) or love.

When I was thinking about my own life, I was all “well duh, I’d definitely pick love!” until I realized that these people may be exceptions, in that they know their gifts, their talents, their “life destinies.” To them, surgery is life. Maybe it makes sense they all picked surgery and not love. (Yes, I know I’m talking about them like they’re real. Whatever.)

But if you’re not a surgeon, or a musician, or a genius mathematician who loves numbers, or a XXX….and you’re just an editor with a red pen and a single status and big dreams…..what should you be hoping to find in life? Your gift, or your love?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 6:10 pm

    I watched it too and had several thoughts on this…so bear with me šŸ™‚

    My opinion about a job is that no matter how much you love doing what you do, or how much of a gift it is to others, you still have to be prepared to walk away because it’s just a job.

    I mean, I’ve always known what I wanted to do. Ever since I was a kid, I knew I wanted to work in IT and that’s what I do. I don’t save lives or anything but I work hard and give more of myself than I should. BUT, I kow in my gut that I could walk away if I ever wanted to.

    Love, on the other hand… THAT’s the true gift. And it’s a gift to me. Being in a great relationship makes you NOT want to walk away. Anyone can do the job I do. My hubby, who is a perfect match for me, well, there’s only the one like him and he cannot be easily replaced. šŸ™‚ So it’s an easy choice for me…

Leave a Reply

