Skip to content

Back to the kitchen

February 1, 2010
tags: ,

It’s not that I haven’t been cooking lately. It’s that I haven’t been cooking lately.

I’m not sure if it is winter blues or laziness or schoolwork or apathy, but instead of cooking I’ve been doing more…reheating. More…thawing. More…eating take out.

Planner that I am, I sat down on Sunday morning with 4 cookbooks, a pen, and paper. I spent more than an hour going through my books and binders and recipes and magazines trying to pick out what I wanted to eat this week. Nothing sounded good. I just had chicken, I just had chili, I just had pasta. I just had pork, I just had steak.

I resolved to cook three nights in a row. This isn’t a feat, but I usually save leftovers and buy about two meals’ ingredients for the whole week, not three for three days. Yesterday I made bean and pasta soup; today is sausage, pepper, and corn spicy skillet thingie; and tomorrow is turkey and stuffing in the crock pot.

There’s a quote from Center Stage when that teacher woman tells Eva that she has to come back to the bar, to the foundation, to find her center. When cooking is your therapy, you gotta get back to the chopping, the cutting, the dicing, the sauteing, the preparing. So that’s what I’m up to this week. Getting back to my knife and cutting board.

Bean and Pasta Soup

  • 3 1/2 cups of water
  • 1/2 c. chopped celery (and a few of the celery leaves)
  • 1/2 c. ditalini pasta (+ a little more for fun cuz I love pasta)
  • 1 envelope Lipton Recipe Secrets beefy onion soup mix (shh don’t tell)
  • 1 can cannellini beans (don’t drain it, but pour about 3/4 the liquid from the can out)–you can also use butter beans or kidney beans
  • 1 can whole tomatoes, cut in the can, undrained
  • 1 can pork and beans, undrained
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • Cheddar or Monterey jack or Swiss cheese, if desired, for the top

Bring the water to a boil, add the celery, ditalini, and the beefy onion flavor packet. Cook 7-10 minutes or until pasta is done. Add tomatoes, pork and beans, cannellini beans, and basil, cook until thoroughly heated. Top with grated cheese.

[I forgot to take you a picture! Apologies, apologies. It looks like beans and pasta in red tomatoey broth.]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

