Skip to content

1000 novels

February 2, 2010
tags:

There are so many lists of books that people who are smart think people should read. It’s hard to keep up. Last year for a while my parents were tackling a list of the something or other best books of the something century, and I think they actually got pretty far knocking them off one by one. It takes a lot of commitment.

The Guardian recently posted a list of the 1000 books everyone must read, and although it’s extremely daunting (I’d prefer a list of 10 or 20), it’s comprehensive and thorough. (Thanks, Val!)

P.S. Don’t you feel awesome when you’ve already read like 1 out of every 150?

I also like to read the best books of 2009, or 2008, or the best books of the 2000s. It’s much easier to digest without feeling overwhelmed and inadequate.

I’m really liking the best books of the decade as compiled by Goodreads.com, although we could definitely argue the merit of Twilight appearing in the top 5. The top 10 according to goodreads voters?

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Kite Runner, Twilight, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince, Water for Elephants, Middlesex, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and The Secret Life of Bees.

Thoughts? I love Harry Potter as much as everyone else, but I’m not so sure about three of J. K.’s works in that top 10.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 3:54 pm

    I love how I’ve been following your blog for seriously a month now (stumbled upon it because you follow the single ladies, of which my sister is one.. or was). and I just decided to start commenting like crazy. Any comment on the HP’s. I agree, in the past (example, Chronicles of Narnia) series have been lumped together and I feel as thought that’s how the HP’s should work. OR, just list Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone since it’s the first in the series.

  2. Laura permalink*
    February 2, 2010 7:39 pm

    Please, comment away! I love comments. Totally agree with grouping similar books together. Seems like a waste of a great spot some other book/series deserves.

Leave a Reply

