Skip to content

Movie talk

February 3, 2010

OK, I’m just going to say it: If Avatar wins best picture, I’m going to be pissed.

I liked Avatar. I thought the effects were neat, the 3-D was obviously entertaining, and I was in love with the Disney-esque beautiful colors in the forests and the big beasty things and the…yeah. It was cool.

But Best Picture cool is a different kind of cool. Best picture is like…when a movie is in another realm for its storytelling, acting, directing, and total overall movie-ness. Avatar didn’t do it for me. I looked at my watch a lot, and I was kind of nonplussed…in a bad way.

The list of 10 best picture nominees (yay, there are 10!) are below (and you can read the full list of Oscar noms at EW, here):

image via EW

Best Picture
Avatar
The Blind Side
District 9
An Education
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Precious
A Serious Man
Up
Up in the Air

A word about District 9 (which I saw just last night): It is surprisingly entertaining. I don’t even like aliens or alien movies (although when I commented that last night, it was pointed out to me that I do in fact love Independence Day and Men in Black and Galaxy Quest, so maybe that’s like 95% false) and I seriously enjoyed this film. It was an interesting mix of social commentary, political satire, comedy, seriousness, and heartwarming fun. It was, in a word, great. (Also, Peter Jackson produced it, and as a huge fan of the LOTR trilogy, I’m not surprised I loved this movie so.)

We’re going to try to see The Hurt Locker and Inglourious Basterds before the Oscars, so that I will have at least seen half of the nominees. What do youuuuuuuu think? Have you seen District 9?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 6:15 pm

    Wow – I totally LOVED Avatar. I thought it felt more like visiting a differnet world than watching a movie…and am totally hoping it wins.

    Granted, and surpsingly, I have not seen any of the other nominees… Did you know that James Cameron’s ex-wife directed The Hurt Locker? Talk about an interesting battle.

    I heard good things about District 9 though. Not Oscar-worthy comments, but they were positive nonetheless.

    I wanted to see The Hurt Locker, the Blind Side and Inglorious Basterds. Maybe Up in the Air too. But time is running out…!

Trackbacks

  1. Girl Power « life needs edits

Leave a Reply

