Skip to content

Lenten promises

February 17, 2010
tags: ,

I’m sort of a nontraditionalist when it comes to religion. I went to Sunday School when I was little, participated in church choir and youth groups throughout high school (and was very devout from about 13-17), but abandoned the traditional faith ship sometime in my first semester of college.

Since then I’ve played the whole “I’m more spiritual than religious” game, even though it is trite and clichéd, and have dabbled in meditation here and there and the spiritual teachings of Eckhart Tolle. (Thanks Col, I did read it, and I love it and will give it back someday.)

All of this is to say that like everything else religious about me—the way I pray, the way I speak to the Earth and universe in my head, and the way I view “God” and his work—my Lenten promises are not really normal, either.

Not to spur an argument or offend anyone here, but I believe that instead of giving things up for Lent, you should take things on. Work on yourself. Revisit the New Year’s resolutions that you’ve probably already abandoned and try to make the world, or yourself, a little happier.

Two years ago I decided to start stretching more and taking vitamins.

Last year I gave up making fun of strangers on the metro in my head.

This year, my promises are to (a) go on a date before Lent is over, (b) keep a food journal even though it is going to scare me, and (c) continue to be unabashedly awesome.

(For the record, I did stretch a lot and I have completely and 100% given up all and any judgment of strangers.)

This gives me six weeks to go on a date. Hopefully these six weeks will also coincide with me losing a bit of my blizzaster weight (which was packed on in the form of pancakes, cases of beer, and chicken wings).

So far today:

  • 2 bowls of cheerios
  • 1 banana
  • 10 blackberries
  • Amy’s Pocket thingie
  • 8 Wheat Thins

I’m doing so good! That’s because I am 3.5 miles away from the container of on-sale Valentine’s Day cookies I bought yesterday. Darn.

Because you’d die without the updates, I’ll keep you posted on my promises this year.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    February 17, 2010 3:36 pm

    (For the record, I did stretch a lot and I have completely and 100% given up all and any judgment of strangers.)

    Remember the baby carrot saga?

Leave a Reply

