Skip to content

Comfort thyme

February 22, 2010

OK, sorry for the dumb spice pun, but I think thyme might be one of my most favorite herbs.

I posted about a similar recipe from Cooking Light a few weeks ago, but I think this dish is my new favorite comfort meal. When I was feeling sickly earlier this afternoon and pondering what food sounded even remotely appetizing, this was the only dish I could come up with. I changed it up from that last post, and it’s way better this time, so I thought I’d share it again. It’s that good.

There’s something about simple meals that are cooked in one pot with little clean up that taste like love and comfort. There’s something about this magical combination of foods that transforms itself while you’re napping that gets lots of points in my book.

Oh, and any time I get to cook with my Le Creuset, I’m a happy girl.

I went a bit crazy with the root vegetables, adding onions, butternut squash (which, btw, comes pre-cut and packaged by itself, cha ching), parsnips, carrots, and red potatoes. I sprinkled these babies with salt and pepper and about 1-2 tbsp melted margarine.

I made a little bed of fresh thyme springs, and put chicken breasts sprinkled with a bit of minced garlic, salt and pepper, and lemon juice. I topped them with a few more thyme leaves because really, why not? (You could easily use a whole chicken if you were less lazy.)

After baking at 375° for about an hour and a half, it made my house smell like a French country kitchen and came out looking like this.

Oh baby, oh baby.

Mama likey.

Serve me up a huge plate of that.

Mmmm.

I feel better already.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 8:26 pm

    This article reminded me so much of the French Cooking Class I took! Thanks,

    You can read my blog about the class at: herbalgourmet.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

