Skip to content

On dreams

February 24, 2010
tags:

Everyone has that person in his or her life that always tells you about his/her dreams.

“So then, these cops were chasing us, and I ran into this building, except it wasn’t a building, it was an Olympic-sized swimming pool, and Michael Phelps was there, only he wasn’t really Michael Phelps, he just looked like him but I knew in my head that he was my friend Tommy, so I was like ‘Shut up, Tommy! The cops are coming!’ so we both tried to swim in the pool only it wasn’t a pool of water, it was really filled with like, this thick shit we couldn’t swim through, but then all of a sudden we were in the middle of a park, and it was winter…”

Mark, you’re my brother and I love you. But seriously, no one has dreams like you do. And no one could tell people about his dreams for upward of 20 minutes like you do, either.

Maybe it’s a family thing, but I too dream very vividly. My dreams are also at times extremely realistic, and play on my very real and acknowledged fears. I’ll dream I run into that scary bitch chick somewhere or that it’s Christmastime and I’m playing with the goldens.

Last night I had a terrifying dream. I dreamed I bought some king crab legs to eat while going to a Train concert with Courtney. While there, the King Crab legs came alive, and started to attack me and bite and sting me all over my arms and legs. Then this man was suddenly showing me that the King Crab legs are never really dead and are very difficult to kill. I screamed for my Mom who came in and started to look at all my painful blisters and bites.

What does it all mean, Basil?

According to my favorite online dream dictionary (yeah yeah, I like dream dictionaries just like I like horoscopes, so what):

To dream that you are stung, represents some action or remark that has hurt you. You are not letting it show how it has affected you. However, the pain is making its way into your dreamscape. Alternatively, the dream may also be a metaphor for being in love.”

I love how unrelated those two possibilities are.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 1:53 pm

    was the crab wearing loafers…?

Leave a Reply

