Skip to content

Rotten eggs

February 25, 2010

[Please forgive the title of this post when you realize what it is I’m writing about.]

Remember a few weeks ago when I did that awkward, single-girl thing wherein you reference your singledom or ovaries during a normal happy hour with married friends?

I made a joke that if I didn’t get married within the next 10 years my eggs would all be dead. Cute, La, real cute.

Well, the Washington Post informed me yesterday that by the time a woman turns 30, 90% of her eggs are gone. And, by the time you’re 40, you have only 3% left. To contextualize those percentages with real numbers, that means you start with about 300,000 eggs, by 30 you’re down to 30,000, and at 40 you’ve got about 9000. Yowza.

Um, WHAT!? 90%. Dead and gone. Commence freaking out….NOW.

The article goes on to quote someone who points out that you shouldn’t really wait to have children if they’re important to you. Wow, sweet advice. Although we’ve been able to prolong our lifespans, biological clocks haven’t been able to catch up. Maybe in the next million or two years our bodies will have adjusted to the women who want to delay starting a family to get ahead in their careers, save money to buy health insurance, or you know, meet a boy who will call them back. That’s just fantastic, because I’ve definitely got 2 million years to kill here.

Welp, there’s nothing I can do now but digest this information with a sad feeling of doom and hope that my own personal biological clock has a snooze feature, or that those 9000 likely to be left when I start bearing children are the best ones of the lot. With all my most fantastic, robust alleles.

Also, I promise someday to stop talking about my ovaries on this thing. In like, the next million or so years.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 11:44 am

    awww- Laura. Don’t worry about it. You only need one egg to make a baby. Additionally, look at the woman on Meet the Duggars. She’s well past 30 and makes babies like their baked goods. Don’t stress about it!

  2. February 28, 2010 11:45 am

    Meet the Duggars… not sure what I’m talking about there

    I think I meant 18 Kids & Counting– which is about the Duggar family. Woops

Leave a Reply

