Skip to content

A word about the Chatty Cathys among us

February 26, 2010
tags: ,

Lately it seems like all I’ve been hearing about—in my own life and in the lives of my other Single Lady friends—is that we’ve been talking too much. And that this is a bad thing.

There are two types of chatters, with regard to dating:

1. The chick who talks about herself because she loves herself and is self-absorbed and doesn’t really care about getting to know the dude anyway. A rarity.

2. The chick who is hyper-self-aware, a little nervous, and genuinely interested in propelling a conversation, which at times may mean lead to garrulousness in her pursuit to fill awkward silences.

OK, so that is a little exaggerated, but I guess my point here is, please! give us Chatty Cathys a break. Most of the time, we’re just trying too hard and don’t know how else to seem charming and affable. Forgive us, dear sirs, for trying to make the date or encounter a pleasurable experience for you.

I think the overall goal, at least for me, is to meet someone who matches my desire for a balanced and fair conversation, and who is interested enough to ask me intelligent questions whilst answering my own with more than a few words. I need someone who can keep up with me and my quick wit and bantering tongue. Find me a boy who can engage in exciting repartee, and it won’t matter if he’s balding or shorter than me or unibrowed. (Well, maybe that’s not true.)

The way to my heart is through grammatically correct, acerbic wit. And also texts, phone calls, or diamond earrings.

But really: Chat back, or forever lose my interest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

