Skip to content

Flawed logic

March 3, 2010
tags:

It occurs to me that my logic is often very, very flawed.

But, if I’m aware of flawed logic, and do it anyway because it’s the only way I can get myself to do things, even if I’m negating the consequences, is it still bad? Or good? Or am I breaking even?

That was extremely confusing, so I’ll demonstrate with examples. I make a lot of deals with myself.

1. If you go to BodyCombat tonight, you can eat more of the Perfectly Chocolate Chocolate Cake you made last night.

2. You can buy yourself these new Asics and fun new work-out shirts if you go to the gym a lot in March.

3. When I said I had to go to bed before 5 a.m. this past weekend, I met my goal—but only because I went to bed at 4 a.m. both nights instead.

4. You can eat that giant hunk of cheddar cheese if you also eat a banana.

5. You have to spend less and drink less this weekend!!! Solution? Have boys buy you shots. That accomplishes both! (I didn’t qualify that “less.”)

6. I’m not going to text _________. Unless I’m drunk. Then it’s OK.

You see? You see the deals I make with the devil, i.e., myself?

They’re awesome. I always get what I want!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 4:00 pm

    we are the same person, or at least have the exact same, flawed logic.

Leave a Reply

