Skip to content

Why I love to telework

March 5, 2010

One of the perks of both my job and profession is that editing can be done remotely; on a day when I don’t need to scan or fax proofs or make five copies of a 100-page book, I can easily do the electronic editing part of my work from home.

Although this wasn’t always true, I’m wildly more productive at my kitchen table than I am in my office. I’m not sure if it’s a mixture of feeling like I need to compensate for the fact that I’m home; that I’m so much happier from the kitchen than I am from my tiny, noisy office and am thus more inspired; or that ever since I was little, when I pictured myself with a family and children and a job, I’m a writer who plugs in her laptop with a big mug of coffee to begin her work day. I do my best editing work from home.

Another benefit of the telecommuting is not having to get up and shower right away, not having to battle crowds on the metro (and now saving myself $4.10 each day in train fares), and being able to make myself a delightful breakfast, my favorite meal in the world.

I’ve been on a fried egg kick lately, ever since I randomly ordered eggs over hard at brunch a few Sundays ago.

Now, I’m a cook. I consider myself fairly experienced in the kitchen for my age. But good lord, I was murdering these eggs.

On Top Chef, they once had a challenge with eggs because they are so hard to cook perfectly. I now understand, whereas at the time I was all, “Psh, whatever, eggs are like totally the easiest things to make in the world! This is lame!” How wrong I was.

After scraping endless amounts of egg crap from my pans and whining because I couldn’t get the yolks the perfect amount of hard to my liking, after flipping eggs over and ending up with 50% of them stuck to the spatula and ruining dozens upon dozens of eggs, I finally have mastered my personal fried egg.

It starts with a lot of margarine. I firmly believe this is the key. Melt about 3/4 a tablespoon in a skillet on medium-high heat. When the margarine starts to sizzle, your pan’s hot enough for the eggs. Crack the eggs very, very slowly. You want the egg to set a little as it is hitting the pan so that it doesn’t go all over the place and end up a huge, thin mess.

Once your eggs are in, let them flap around as the water starts to cook out of them. If you pick up and shake the pan, there should be enough margarine in there that they slide. (I’m sorry, but it’s a “fried” egg for a reason; if you’re trying to get away with using a light coating of Pam in the pan, you will fail.)

When the whites are good and almost totally set, should you desire a firmer yolk, go ahead and flip them over. When I flip them (which is really easy to do because of your margarine and the water cooking out of the eggs), I turn down the heat to medium and put a lid over them. It will get noisy as the water and margarine spatter, but this ensures that the yolk can cook a bit more without the bottom getting too brown. Cook ’til whenevs you feel they’re done, remove to a plate, add a bit of salt and pepper, and enjoy one of nature’s most amazing contributions to cooking—the egg.

Leave a Reply

