Skip to content

Fly away home

March 11, 2010

So the birds have returned to Arlington County, and boy are they boisterous and erratic.

Walking to the metro this morning, I was nearly decapitated by a schizo robin. There is a witness, who like me, could not believe how close this bird got to my face. I was frightened, alarmed, and my chi was completely thrown off.

Yesterday I complained about how noisy the birds are. Today, I’ll complain about how unpredictable they are. They are shifty.

I consider myself an animal lover, but birds are not animals. They are…shifty. Devious. Calculating. Other than cardinals, I loathe them all. I might not even put out the bird seed this year. I don’t trust them.

Also, Pottery Barn has apparently decided that birds are appropriate home decor. They put birds on everything this spring. Why!?

Exhibit A: Bedding.

“Oversized floral patterns and cockatiels.”

“Several species of sparrow, each on a different type of branch, create spring color.”

“Our interpretation in organic cotton sateen features birds and butterflies amid blooming trees.”

Exhibit B: Birds on pillows.

“Vibrant songbirds, each on a different leafy branch!

“Bright-winged birds are hand embroidered…”

Exhibit C: Decorative accents.

OK, I think I’ve proved my case.

Seriously though, am I the only one who doesn’t get the bird thing? Gross.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    March 11, 2010 3:59 pm

    You don’t love the birds singing in the morning?!? It is the BEST part of spring!!

  2. Ashley permalink
    March 12, 2010 7:56 am

    Birds are worse than cats. Hate ’em.

  3. Ashley permalink
    March 12, 2010 7:56 am

    Birds are worse than cats. Hate ’em.

    Those beaks and creepy claw feet. Gross!

Leave a Reply

