Skip to content

Big Red

March 12, 2010

I saw a Verizon ad that sampled an old jingle of Big Red, and it really got me thinking about the difference in commercials from the 80s and early 90s and today.

Like, Big Red gum for instance.

I don’t think I’ve seen this commercial in more than 15 years but I know every single word.

How about My Buddy and Kid Sister? The Sullivan children had both.

Remember Lite Brite?

Skip It?

Bagel Bites?

And, my personal favorite, the “Just for the Taste of It” Diet Coke ad:

So, did you notice anything by watching those old commercials? When did advertisers stop making jingles? I know the words to every one of those songs. I miss ads of yesteryear where you would sing along.

Today’s ads got nothin’ on the ones I watched as a kid.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 2:06 pm

    I was thinking this too recently, but then I realized, it’s because we’re watching different shows. I watched some day time TV with a kid I babysat for a while back, and a LOT of the commercials are exactly the same…

  2. Laura permalink*
    March 12, 2010 2:07 pm

    Touche, Cara. Touche.

  3. March 12, 2010 2:21 pm

    have you seen those fancy feast (or some brand of cat food) commercials? that are like a love song about cat food or something? creeeeeepy.

    and let’s not forget mentos! those were ground-breaking.

  4. Joshua Shields permalink
    March 14, 2010 3:18 pm

    ah, i think you mean this commercial

  5. Laura permalink*
    March 14, 2010 5:49 pm

    That commercial seriously just keeps going and going and going and going. What a magical story.
    Advertising FAIL!

  6. Mark permalink
    March 15, 2010 3:46 pm

    DVR’s did away with jingles! I’m grateful. I can’t watch a show live anymore. I’m too type A. Watching commercials wastes time.

Leave a Reply

