Skip to content

It’s Wednesday! Shocker

April 14, 2010
tags: ,

I’m always cranky on Wednesdays, and then realize it is Wednesday and therefore my crankiness is explained, and then wonder which came first, the Wednesday or the crank.

Either way, they go hand in hand.

Some stray links:

1. I hate cilantro, and have said to people for a while that it tastes like soap. Thank god there is a blog out there for people like me, and this piece in the New York Times that tells me “Julia Child! She’s just like us! She hated cilantro!”

“Cilantro and arugula I don’t like at all. They’re both green herbs, they have kind of a dead taste to me.”

“So you would never order it?” Mr. King asked.

“Never,” she responded. “I would pick it out if I saw it and throw it on the floor.”

Aw, I love JC.

2. Cats in sinks. Who knew? Also, a bunch of videos of cats playing in bathrooms.

My favorite:

3. Oh, snap: Michelle Rhee, the highly unpopular DC public school chancellor laid off 266 teachers earlier this year, citing budget defecits. This week, it was revealed that, whoopsies, nevermind, we used the wrong numbers when coming up with our budget totals! From the DCist:

The Examiner reports that at a hearing on Mayor Adrian Fenty’s 2010 budget today, Rhee explained that part of the teacher raises contemplated in the new contract would come from a $34 million surplus in the schools budget. Of course, various members of the council were quick to inquire how the school system could be running a surplus now, when just last fall Rhee justified the dismissal of 266 teachers due to a $43 million deficit. According to Rhee, the surplus was uncovered because a previous budget estimate mistakenly used $81,000 as the average teacher salary, about $15,000 more than it actually is.

OK, that’s all I’ve got for you at 10:46 a.m.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

