Skip to content

Weddings

April 19, 2010
tags: ,

Ah, weddings are such exciting things. I teared, I laughed, I drank too much wine (thanks to ridiculously attentive waiters), I danced so much I got blisters, and I felt a sense of overwhelming joy for two people celebrating their relationship and future together.

Also, the wedding was on campus of my alma mater—something I probably won’t do again.

We walked around campus, pointing out favorite spots, laughing with nostalgia, giggling with “Remember when”s and feeling a displaced sense of familiarity and home. But also very old and grown up.

Hills seemed smaller. The Dining Hall seemed bigger. There are flat screens where banners used to hang.

It’s the same, but not.

Kind of like we’re the same, but not.

The wedding was absolutely beautiful, we danced and laughed and had an excellent reunion all for two people we very much care about.

Cheers to the happy couple!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessa permalink
    April 20, 2010 5:08 pm

    False! You will indeed go to another wedding on campus. Fast-forward a few years….

    I heard the Kappa Sig lodge is a wonderful venue for wedding receptions.

    I’m pretty sure that would make Malcolm very happy (as long as he has bags of beer)

  2. April 20, 2010 5:35 pm

    Jessa are you implying that you and malcolm are getting married in a few years at the kappa sig lodge…? i hope so.

    • Jessa permalink
      April 20, 2010 6:33 pm

      haha maybe I am! there will have to be some ridiculous wedding-related dress up theme.

      i’ll keep you posted…

  3. Laura permalink*
    April 21, 2010 3:54 pm

    Jessa, I’ve never heard a more fantastic idea in all my years.

    You can turn the brothers’ room into a bridal suite!!!

  4. April 21, 2010 3:57 pm

    Do you think Alison would work the door/check our spider cards upon entry?

Leave a Reply

