Skip to content

French toast

April 20, 2010

Maybe it seems silly to post a recipe about French toast, but it’s a highly underrated breakfast food, if you ask me, and it’s ridiculously simple to make at home.

There are two breakfast contingents: Those who love salty, rich, meaty breakfasts (bacon, anyone?) and those who love the sweets—French toast, waffles, pancakes, donuts.

I myself like them both. The idea of pork roll and cheese and eggs sandwiched between two pieces of French toast sounds absolutely phenomenal to me. And to my arteries. So there.

Back to the French toast—it’s good.

In a shallow bowl, break two eggs. Add a tablespoon of fat-free half and half, 1 teaspoon or so of sugar, and about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.

Whisk together and really soak some bread in it (I used leftover sourdough which was surprisingly delicious, but any old bread will work) —- no casual dipping will do.

Put in pan on medium-high heat with a little melted margarine in it, flip only once.

Voila!

Top with powdered sugar and cinnamon, leave plain if you don’t like sweets, or dunk it in syrup.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 10:49 am

    Looks pretty good, but I’d recommend the following changes:

    1. use cinnamon instead of vanilla
    2. use a round bowl
    3. use 2% milk
    4. use bread with extra fiber
    5. eat on a round plate
    6. top with blueberries or yogurt
    7. use butter rather than margarine
    8. cook on medium rather than medium-high

    hope that helps! love and kisses

  2. April 20, 2010 11:26 am

    I concur with the cinamon. I use a teaspoon of cinamon in my french toast. Milk of any kind is entirely unnecessary. I use 1/4 cup of sugar. Try it, it is so much better. Definitely use butter instead of margarine. Margarine is worse for you than butter.

    • holly permalink
      April 20, 2010 6:03 pm

      Go to dictionary and check spelling of cinamon.

  3. April 20, 2010 12:19 pm

    Of course margarine is worse for you, that’s why it is better! I also prefer vanilla (but wouldn’t be opposed to a vanilla/cinnamon combo) and I think the milk is essential.

  4. April 20, 2010 3:27 pm

    🙂 I love french toast! It’s my favorite breakfast food! But I agree- a french toast sandwich sounds even better. It’s not quite a meal without some meat 🙂

  5. April 20, 2010 3:33 pm

    Think outside the box and try it and see if you still feel that way. Besides you are only putting in a tablespoon of milk.

    Blessings
    John Wilder

  6. Laura permalink*
    April 20, 2010 6:04 pm

    Who knew something as simple as French toast could garner such critique! John Wilder, why don’t you start a food blog of you own? You seem to have plenty of critiques about my food, and you have never even tried it.

  7. April 20, 2010 6:14 pm

    It isn’t serious critique, just suggestions. I was a former award winning executive chef and caterer. I have no desire to start a food blog, but am always interested in food and recipes.

    I can just go away if you wish. The idea of a blog is that you invite people in and comment.

    I just suggest that you try my recipe and do a taste test with yours and mine and see which they prefer. You have to be fair and not tell them which is which otherwise people will of course pick yours because they don’t want to hurt your feelings.

    There are tons of variables in cooking. I think outside the box and like to play with my food.

    BHlessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • holly permalink
      April 22, 2010 7:49 am

      Okay John don’t go away mad, just go away.

  8. April 21, 2010 12:26 pm

    where were you an executive chef??

  9. April 21, 2010 12:28 pm

    In Berlin Germany

  10. April 21, 2010 1:25 pm

    I like the sound of the blind taste test.

    L – please let me know when I can come over for TWO KINDS OF FRENCH TOAST! I’ll bring the mimosas 🙂

    BREAKFAST PARTY!!!!!

  11. Gilly permalink
    April 21, 2010 3:25 pm

    skip the breakfast junk and make bean and tort soup!

  12. April 21, 2010 3:49 pm

    A yummy addition:

    mostly cook two pieces of L’s French Toast….add a thin, or thick, layer of Peanut Butter and some banana slices between the two, sandwhich them together and cook a little longer on the skillet – yummy, melted PB french toast!

  13. Nan permalink
    April 21, 2010 3:54 pm

    What the french, toast?

Leave a Reply

