Skip to content

PSA: Ice makers are hot.

May 4, 2010

Last night I reached into the ice machine makery guy for a few cubes, and then screamed in pain when I felt something hot—-very hot—-on my hand. My roommate looked at me in confused surprise as I immediately burst into tears and said something in the freezer was very, very hot.

As the investigation ensued, I checked out my hand which was already blistered and in the shape of a long, thin coil.

“There appears to be some type of heating coil here.” Roommate is very good at sleuthing.

Me: “What the F?”

Roommate held a cube to the coil on the underside of the machine and it immediately began to melt.

“Yup. I’ll say this is what burned you.”

OK, so a trip to CVS later and with my hand slathered in aloe and lidocaine, I’m finally comfortable again. Roommate has again investigated and come to the conclusion that I have a superficial partial-thickness, second-degree burn.

The weirdest part of this story is that I was all kinds of excited to regale AP with this tale (and I had sent her a graphic picture message last night of the ice maker’s revenge on my hand) and she comes online this morning to tell me that SHE burned HER hand last night on a 500-degree pan and has to go to the doctor and has it all wrapped up like a mummy and her burn story totally kicks my burn story’s ass. Excepting only that hers was from a normal place you might burn yourself and mine was from the freezer.

I’m still not sure I’m over the fact that we both burned our hands very badly last night. It’s kinda weird.

Consider this a warning to stay far, far away from your heating coil mechanism in the ice maker, which of course is not supposed to be hot all the time but if you rent a house and your freezer just does what it wants and sometimes you have ice coming out the wazoo and sometimes you have nothing but an empty tray, watch out. You’ve been warned.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gilly permalink
    May 4, 2010 12:59 pm

    Mr. Dillion: Gilly, did you turn the ice-maker heating coil on high so that it would burn Laura’s hand?

    Gilly: Uh-huh. Yeah. Sorry!

  2. May 4, 2010 2:51 pm

    I think we should post pics of our burns so LNE readers can truly feel our pain.

Leave a Reply

