Skip to content

Cilantro-lime chicken

May 10, 2010

Mmmmm. Sometimes I tear recipes out of magazines, or print them from Web sites, and then for some reason I don’t make them for a year. This recipe has been sitting in my binder for almost a year now, and I’m so glad I finally made it—I’ll likely be making it every two weeks or so all summer, it’s that tasty.

This recipe was quick, easy, not at all labor intensive, and so light and summery. I served this chicken sans cilantro (because I hate it) and with refried beans and corn; Cooking Light suggests saffron rice which I’m sure would also be delicious.

In lieu of my own photo, which I neglected to snap because I was eating it too fast to stop and get my camera, I’ll post Cooking Light‘s, which looks better than mine would anyway.

Cilantro-lime chicken with avocado salsa

  • 2  tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons  fresh lime juice
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons  olive oil
  • 4  (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
    Salsa:
  • 1  cup chopped tomatoes (about 2)
  • 2  tablespoons finely chopped red onion
  • 2  teaspoons fresh lime juice
  • 1/4  teaspoon salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1  avocado, peeled and finely chopped

1. Prepare grill. Combine first 4 ingredients in a large bowl; toss and let stand 5-10 minutes. Sprinkle chicken evenly with 1/4 teaspoon salt. Place chicken on grill; cook 6 minutes on each side or until done.

2. To prepare salsa, combine tomato and next 4 ingredients (through pepper) in a medium bowl. Add avocado; stir gently to combine. Serve salsa over chicken. Eat entire bowl of salsa.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 1:35 pm

    A great addition is grilled corn mixed in the salsa. I know that you told me to go away, but I could not resist adding a comment to the food post.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  2. Donna Verdier permalink
    May 16, 2010 3:20 pm

    I tried the recipe WITH the cilantro you found offensive–what a great dish! Thanks, kiddo.

    By the way, there’s a perfectly rational–even scientific–reason for you to hate cilantro. See http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/14/dining/14curious.html

    • Laura permalink*
      May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

      Yay! I am so glad you tried it and enjoyed it. It is definitely going to become one of my summer staples!

Leave a Reply

