Skip to content

You have the personality of a handle

May 27, 2010

Ohh how we’ll miss Simon Cowell. Vulture compiled a list of its favorite Simonisms over the years, and it had me rolling before 8:00 a.m. Especially the title of this post. Classic.

I know who won American Idol, I didn’t watch the finale, and I don’t care. As a loyal follower for the previous 8 seasons, I was nonplussed by this season’s lack of talent, boring performances, and lackluster attitudes from all. As Simon exits officially (because we all know he had checked out way earlier this season), so do I. Will I give two to four hours of my life to this competition show that is far past its prime? No. Do I think they could ever find another Kelly, Carrie, Jordin, Adam, David? Yes. Do I think they will? No. The main problem with the entire season this year was, as is the risk when leaving any sort of important decision to America, that three of the most talented contestants were booted before the top 12. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth. The shocking and unjust oust of Alex Lambert was too much to bear.

Maybe the main question is: Will I watch Simon on his X-Factor baby? I’d like to say no, but we all know that the allure of a new reality competition gets me right where it hurts. And I love him, I have always loved him, and I will miss that Brit with the v-necks more than I’d like to admit.

The highlight, as usual, of American Idol ending is the debut of So You Think You Can Dance.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

