Skip to content

Delicious birthday dinner

June 7, 2010

Here’s a weird secret: I’ve never really liked food of the genre “barbecue.” I was never into pulled pork, I don’t loooove barbecue sauce, and until a year ago I had never had a wing.

Crazy, right?

We live dangerously close to an establishment renowned for its barbecue. In fact, when the wind is right, you can smell the smokey breeze in a radius that calls you like a homing device to its doors. I’ve grown to love the sauceless wings, the chicken, the pork. Rocklands is good. Really good.

Better than the barbecue, however, in my opinion, are the sides — potato salad, cole slaw, mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, corn pudding, black bean salad….the list goes on. They made me the perfect birthday dinner last night. I could go back and eat another entire plate full of fatty goodness today, if you’d let me.

Don’t you just love summer sides?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. holly permalink
    June 7, 2010 1:41 pm

    I will not even comment on that plate.

  2. holly permalink
    June 7, 2010 1:41 pm

    Which of course, is a comment.

  3. Laura permalink*
    June 7, 2010 2:15 pm

    IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY, OK? Mom wasn’t here to cook me spinach-stuffed tomatoes and ranch potatoes and parsleyed rice.

Trackbacks

  1. Scrumptious summer sides « life needs edits

Leave a Reply

