Skip to content

Chipotle at home: Cilantro lime rice

June 8, 2010

Ahh, Chipotle. The reason I gained the junior 25.

Few people I know don’t love Chipotle. And those that do blame the cilantro-hating gene, which I totally respect, since I have it. [Incidentally, for those of you who may care, I’m on a plight to force myself to get over the “this tastes like soap” thoughts when I eat cilantro. I’ll be replacing those with “This tastes like cilantro (which tastes like soap)” and we’ll see how it goes.]

BUT! Few people can afford to eat it all the time, and I don’t mean financially. I mean calorically.

What you’ll need to make the cilantro lime rice at home:

  • Basmati rice
  • water
  • a bay leaf
  • cilantro
  • fresh lime juice
  • kosher salt
  • olive oil

Here’s what I did (combining a recipe from the 60-Minute Gourmet with some I found on a Chipotle fan Web site):

Drizzle a bit of olive oil in the bottom of a saucepan until it’s heated (on medium high). Add 1 cup of uncooked basmati rice and stir it around in the olive oil for about a minute. (I’m not really sure why to do this, but lots of rice recipes do this first so I always do.)

Add 1 and 3/4 cups water and 1 bay leaf (broken in half). Add about half a teaspoon of kosher salt. Bring to a boil, then cover and simmer for 15 minutes.

When the rice is done, fluff it up with a fork, remove the bay leaf, and drizzle a little bit more olive oil onto the rice. Stir. Then add about 2 tablespoons of chopped cilantro (less if you’re me) and another teaspoon or so (to taste) of kosher salt. Squeeze the juice from about half a lime over the top and stir again.

If it came out like mine, you’ll be amazed that it was made in your kitchen and not in the industrial guac-smelling Chipotle kitchen.

[Note: This was my first try, so I wanted to be as authentically Chipotle-an as possible. In the future, however, I will absolutely use brown rice.]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

