Skip to content

Dollhouse

June 15, 2010

Did you have a dollhouse as a little girl? (Sorry, boys. Maybe skip this post.)

I did.

I loved it.

I think this part of the reason that I love tiny things. If you have a miniature version of something that is usually normal sized, I will love it. I will buy it. I will have to have it.

Tiny board games? Have them all. Tiny little piece of art? Yes please! Tiny food? Yes yes yes! I love anything mini.

I loved buying (making Mom buy me) little things to put in the four-room dollhouse. While I was searching out an air compressor in my Dad’s garage, I found the dollhouse in all her dusty glory.

So she’s a little worse for the wear. Crayon (thanks, Mark) and dust cover the outside, and inside it looks as though something very, very terrible has happened.

OH NO! WHAT HAS HAPPENED HERE!?!?!?

WHO BROKE THE DAD’S LEGS!?!! He’ll never walk again!!!

Tommy has died! This looks like a job for CSI: Mini. (Sorry.)

OK, back to the house. Look at the tiny bedroom, carpeted and wallpapered by hand by my dear toiling mother:

My favorites from this room: The tiny brush and mirror on the dresser, the tissue box, the wrapped present.

The bathroom:

Although in dire need of a Swiffer, look at that tiny porcelain furniture!

Tiny toothbrushes! Oh for cryin’ out loud.

My favorite then, and my favorite now, is the kitchen.

TINY COOL RANCH DORITOS:

Tiny bacon!!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?

So, without further ado, I’ll hereby announce my plans to quit my life as an editor and exclusively design and make and shop for dollhouses.

It’s been fun, but this is obviously my true calling. Look at this one I photographed at the American History Museum:

Yeah, see ya.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cara permalink
    June 16, 2010 10:13 am

    Ahhh this makes me so happy. I love dollhouses. I am still very bitter about the fact that I asked Santa for a dollhouse pretty much every single year, and Santa never came through. And then all of the sudden the first year my little sister asks for a dollhouse, she gets one. I still bring this up with my parents as evidence of how deprived I was as a child…

  2. June 27, 2010 12:06 pm

    I never had a dollhouse i got the car, but not the house. Your dollhouse is still so cute, I think I want one!

Leave a Reply

