Skip to content

Update on summer reading

June 22, 2010
  • Little Bee, Chris Cleave (can’t wait)
  • Sarah’s Key, Tatiana de Rosnay
  • The Kitchen House, Kathleen Grissom
  • Outlander series, Diana Gabaldon
  • Circle of Friends, Maeve Binchy
  • The Girl Who Played with Fire, Stieg Larsson
  • The Summer We Fell Apart, Robin Antalek
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Skloot
  • Brief Interviews with Hideous Men, David Foster Wallace
  • The Postmistress, Sarah Blake
  • On the Road, Jack Kerouac (attempted and failed to get through this classic. oops. not so good for beach reading.)
  • My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands, Chelsea Handler (hilarious, since purchased Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang to read, as well)
  • The Lonely Polygamist, Brady Udall (anxiously awaiting on hold list)
  • Girl in Translation, Jean Kwok (anxiously awaiting on hold list)
  • Shanghai Girls, Lisa See
  • Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, Helen Simonson (currently reading and absolutely loving)

There are also tons of recent additions to this list because of awesome birthday gift books and new finds. Additionally, I’ll be embarking on a single girl’s search for self-help this summer: On my three-month dating hiatus, I pledge to read Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus; Why Men Love Bitches; and Act Like A Lady, Think Like A Man.

With these classic dating tomes I will try to follow all the advice and compile it into a comprehensive single-girl philosophy. This is perfect and gives me plenty of time to practice my new ways and behaviors while cute neighbor is gone for three months, while I shape up my butt and life during my 5K training, and while I live out my summer on the beach.

All for you, dear readers. Certainly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 9:54 am

    The girl who played with fire.. amazing book! I’m from Sweden and most of my friends and family members are obsessed with Larsson’s books. if you like the first one you should check out the other two books as well 😀

  2. June 24, 2010 5:06 pm

    My Horizontal Life is hilarious. Are You There Vodka, It’s Me, Chelsea, is funny, but perhaps not hilarious, I think. But Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang made me cry from laughing.

    You don’t know me, but I am clearly someone who keeps up with Chelsea Handler books and possibly watches her show. Maybe or maybe not every night. I also try to do productive things in society.

    And Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus is good and extremely helpful, but John Gray’s book called Mars and Venus in the Bedroom? Is life changing.

    Happy reading!

    • Laura permalink*
      June 24, 2010 5:35 pm

      I can’t wait to read it!

      Watching Chelsea Handler is totally productive, don’t worry. Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. From doormat to dreamgirl « life needs edits

Leave a Reply

