Skip to content

Melting

June 28, 2010

I run hot. I’m one of those few who are always on the warm side. “Is it hot in here or is it me?” It’s always me. I’ve gotten generally used to it, and my bottom-floor room does wonders for my out of control body temperatures. But lord, almighty God, is it hot down here.

The past 10 days have seen temperatures over 90 degrees, most of those have been close to 100 and record-breaking. Yesterday it was so hot that a plant spontaneously combusted and started a huge deck fire. Quite honestly, I didn’t even know that was possible.

There have been 16 days over 90 degrees so far in June. I haven’t worn my hair down or blow-dried it in ages. Walking outside feels like walking through a sauna. But it’s summer! You’re supposed to stick to your car seats and burn your hands on the steering wheel. You’re definitely going to look as though you swam home from the grocery. You’re supposed to leave the gym and start sweating more on the walk home than you did during the workout (which is actually quite a feat when you’re already drenched).

We’re all feeling it. A mere 90 degree day seems like a deep-freeze, at this point.

What do you do to cool off? Do you eat homemade raspberry sorbet and take cold showers? That’s all I’ve got so far.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 9:25 am

    I love it! No worrying about jackets. The daily threat of a thunderstorm. Soon enough we will be buried in snow again, so I’ll be soaking up the sun and hating on those who hate the heat.

  2. June 28, 2010 7:51 pm

    Aaaaaiiiiir conditioning. Yup. 😀

    It’s super hot up here in New Hampshire and usually our summers aren’t too bad. Real muggy. Thankfully I go from an AC’d house to an AC’d car to an AC’d office. 90% of the time. And if I’m not there I’m usually mercifully at the beach or somewhere else with AC!

Leave a Reply

