Skip to content

Holy crap why is this book so good?

July 6, 2010

Have you heard of this trilogy yet? The Hunger Games? Suzanne Collins wrote this young adult fiction book about a post-apocolyptic dystopian North American country’s capitol and its annual competition to remind its previously rebelling districts of its power: the Hunger Games. Each district sends one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 to contend in a fight to the death, literally; 23 contestants will die and 1 will win. It’s violent, vicious, brutal.

Other than to tell you that I read it in a day, that I couldn’t put it down, that I didn’t strain my eyes because yes it’s a young adult fiction book and the words a huge and it’s like an 8th grade reading level and that I cannot wait to get my hands on the second installment and that oh my god why do I love things written for children so much it should probably alarm me, I don’t have much else praise to give: get it, read it quickly, and move on to the next books.

You won’t be sorry. You might even find yourself more amused at this type of teen romance than by the likes of Jacob and Edward.

Haha, just kidding.

Sorta.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 12:51 am

    I’ve been hearing about how great these books are. I’m really curious now….

    I might just give it a go.

  2. July 14, 2010 2:37 am

    Well I finally read The Hunger Games…and Catching Fire lol. It was pretty good. Fast paced and exciting, though I was a bit disappointed that Catching Fire was very similar to The Hunger Games. I’m curious to know what happens in the third book…

    How do you feel about the characters of Katniss and Peeta?

Leave a Reply

