Skip to content

Not as good as I was told

July 12, 2010

Chris Cleave’s Little Bee left me…underwhelmed.

Was it a magical story? Not really.

Did I feel totally connected to any of the characters? Nope.

Was I moved by the scene on the beach? Yes.

Was I moved by the end scene? Nope.

Have any of you read this? What did you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 8:19 pm

    I held it in my hands at a bookstore thinking of buying it. For reasons largely monetary (and due to the lack of a strong desire to own. it. right. there), I decided to pass. When my sister-in-law got the very book for our mother-in-law for Mother’s Day, I kind of knew I didn’t miss much 🙂

  2. Laura permalink*
    July 13, 2010 9:31 am

    Definitely not missing anything. I’d recommend a million other books first!

  3. Kate permalink
    July 14, 2010 12:38 am

    I thought it was good. Did it change my life? No. Would I still be alive if I’d never read it? Absolutely. And it’s nowhere even remotely close to my top 10. But then again, I don’t think I heard as much hype about it before reading, either, so perhaps my expectations weren’t as high.

Leave a Reply

