Skip to content

Two weeks to go

July 13, 2010

I have two more weeks of being an official DC worker before I’m relegated to my home to telecommute indefinitely. The DC HQ of our organization is closing, and we can work a few days a month from Reston in an office about 40 minutes away.

Working from home has its perks. I can make eggs for breakfast, and like now, and I can sit in my PJs at the kitchen table. I can sleep in until 7:30 since I’m not commuting and I can go to the gym on my lunch break.

But it has its drawbacks, too.

It could get to 4 p.m. and I might still be in my PJs. I don’t get to wear my adorable work clothes anymore. I don’t get to see the magnificent DC streets and work one block from the White House. I don’t get to visit the Farmers’ Market on Thursday afternoons and I don’t get to run into Au Bon Pain for coffee every morning.

Teleworking in the summertime is one thing…

But in the winter…

I might get seasonal affective disorder. Cabin fever. Really lonely.

I’ve got two weeks left of being a professional woman, before I’m just a stay-at-home girl.

Wish me luck?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 5:02 pm

    Gah. I would feel ambivalent about it too. I get cabin fever easily. I teach, so I have entire summers off, and I start to feel depressive if I spend a few days in a row in my pajamas, not leaving the house.

    I say when you become a stay-at-home worker, you make a habit of getting up and getting yourself dressed no matter what. Maybe not super cute heels and work clothes… but dressed. And then try to schedule regular “dates” with friends where you can utilize your lovely closet.

    : )

Leave a Reply

