Skip to content

Single girl reading list, book 2: Men are definitely from Mars

July 28, 2010

The second book in my sort-of-joking-but-ultimately-hopefully-helpful single girl trio was Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus.

This book is mostly famous for its title, although since it was published in 1992, I bet thousands more people have read this book than you might think.

And frankly, well they should: I learned an embarrassingly large amount of information about the opposite sex in just the first few chapters.

It takes you a few pages to get beyond the corniness of the references to fictional planets where only men (Mars) and only women (Venus) once lived; the imagery of the Martians and Venusians coming to live together but still holding all of their past planetary behaviors. Women like to talk, men go to inner caves. Women love feelings, men like introverted reflection. Men like to fix things and offer solutions to show their love, women show love by trying to offer criticisms and harmless suggestions for improvement. Men interpret that as a statement that women think they are incapable, which hurts their manly feelings, and the problems perpetuate.

Reading this book was pretty much like reading a book about why I am the stereotypical, archetypal woman, and why so many of my past issues in relationships have been the result of fundamental misunderstandings about the real and myriad differences between men and women.

I’m not currently in a relationship, and because of that, I had less of the book to currently relate to, but there is so much that I know I will want to refer to in the future. MFB must consider himself lucky that I am now armed with the tools of communication and language, understanding of male behavior, and acceptance and understanding of the sexes. I will be able to tell him exactly what I need and forgive him when he doesn’t understand what I’m saying.

I know how stupid this sounds, but I truly believe this book is a great resource for people in relationships who encounter frequent mis-comms and misunderstandings with their partner.

John Gray, you’re a smart man.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 12:56 am

    Wow, thanks for reviewing my book in a positive way, Laura. I am glad it was helpful for you.

    All the best,

    John Gray, author of Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus

    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/John.Gray.Mars.Venus
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/marsvenus

Leave a Reply

