Skip to content

Update: One Day

July 28, 2010

I was only 81% finished One Day on my Kindle when I posted its wonderousness yesterday, but now having completed all 100% of the book, I can tell you affirmatively that it is a truly exceptional work of fiction.

Sometimes I don’t care about the characters in a book. In fact, this has been happening to me a lot lately. Olive Kitteridge, I didn’t really like you. You journalists in The Imperfectionists? Yeah, you guys are totally imperfect, and not very relateable. Little Bee? My mother and I decided that you were kind of…naively bitchy. Major Pettigrew, OK, I fell in love with you, so you’re the exception to this rule. But everyone else lately has been blah. Blah blah blah.

But not Dex and Em, Em and Dex. Oh, I loved you both.

The floor was littered with teary tissues when I finished this book; I give it a 5 tissue rating. (This is the maximum rating. Incidentally, the crying scale doesn’t necessarily relate to the actual sadness of the story, more of my emotional investment and cathexis in the book itself.)

I started crying at about 91% and I didn’t stop until I turned off the Kindle. And even then, upstairs brushing my teeth, I thought about the book and cried again.

Now, that’s a good book.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 8:32 am

    Did you know you would be using the word cathexis when you started this post?

  2. holly permalink
    July 28, 2010 11:46 am

    AP, I’m sure she broke out the thesaurus on that one.

  3. Lindsay permalink
    July 28, 2010 12:01 pm

    How do you like your Kindle? I just got one for my birthday and love it so far, though I don’t think it will ever replace my love of holding a book in my hand.

    – Lindsay
    http://www.thedailyawe.com

    • Laura permalink*
      July 28, 2010 12:29 pm

      Hi Lindsay, I love it—although you’re right, I love reading books in my hands, too. I got it mainly because I realized I cannot keep buying books and then giving them away, since my apartments are never going to be big enough for the library I so dream about. Two cons: 1, can’t read it on the beach—not because of contrast, but because I don’t want my sandy and greasy hands all over it. 2, For some reason, I cannot read as quickly on the Kindle, and I’m a really fast reader. It’s a bit frustrating.

      Other than that, I totally love it. I’m an instant-gratification kind of girl, so purchasing books and having them instantly delivered (and no shipping, ever) is a huge plus.

  4. Laura permalink*
    July 28, 2010 12:25 pm

    Wow guys, thanks for the votes of confidence.

    Mom, my vocab really is that big.

Leave a Reply

