Skip to content

Is it really a memoir…

August 2, 2010

If you’re 16? How many memories could you possibly have to discuss?

I thought it was crazy at first when I heard Kendra was writing a memoirSliding into Home. I am 6 days older than she is and I thought “good lord, how much more could she possibly have to say, and how well could that thing be written?”

Then I remembered she lived in the Playboy Mansion and thus her life was infinitely more interesting than mine. She also (vom) has touched Hugh Heffner. Blech. OK, fine. Write a memoir, Kendra.

But the straw that really broke the camel’s back (i.e. my struggling writer spirit) was when I read that Justin Bieber’s memoir will be released in October. Justin Bieber: First Step 2 Forever: My Story. No offense, Biebs, but that’s the worst title ever. I’m pretty sure the limit to colons within book titles = one.

HOW COME EVERYONE HAS A MEMOIR BUT ME? Seriously, I’m aware that Bieber’s life is a million times cooler than mine, but could he possibly be a good writer at 16? As Vulture pointed out his recent tweets are:

“Asian fans!! from Japan 2 China 2 the Philippines and all over. Just yesterday I had 2 fans fly 2 Louisiana from Thailand…amazing! thank u

…i could do these shoutouts all day but i guess what Im trying to say is even while im on this part of the tour in the US and Canada…

…I appreciate the luv and support you all give me around the world. I am blessed and honored by that support and i want yall to know… “

You guys would read my book/memoir, wouldn’t you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 2:39 pm

    Justin Beiber? SICK. I am making a bet and saying that he won’t be remembered in a few years. All those little girls that fawn over him now used to love the Jonas brothers just last year (or the year before, I can’t remember). They have the attention span of a moth.

    You can count on at least one reader of your memoir: me.

  2. August 2, 2010 3:56 pm

    I totally would read your memoir. And it makes my insides hurt that he has a memoir at 16.

  3. August 3, 2010 8:56 am

    As ridiculous as it is, he should write his memoirs right now because his 15 minutes of fame are going to cease when he finally hits full stride of puberty.

  4. August 3, 2010 9:23 am

    Even though deep inside I feel like I owe the fellow Canadian (artist) J.B. some kind of moral support, I’d rather read a phone book than his anything, let alone a memoir.

    “… could he possibly be a good writer at 16?” Please. PLEASE. Don’t do that to yourself.

    He’s a teenager. Writing a 2-page paper would be a major endeavor for him. Writing a book? Mission impossible. Frankly, I pity the fool who’d spent months writing the book FOR him trying to sound as dumb as possible, so that his fans don’t suspects anything. Though I don’t really care for the proof, I am willing to bet that half the pages in his memoir are covered with pictures, anyway.

    • Laura permalink*
      August 3, 2010 9:44 am

      Love, love the comment. I cracked up!

Leave a Reply

