Skip to content

Let’s get serious for a moment

August 6, 2010

I mean, actually serious.

I’m kind of surprised I haven’t seen more about this (or, really, anything at all) in the blogosphere.

One of the top 10 songs on iTunes right now, as it has been for a few weeks, is “Love the Way You Lie,” Rihanna and Eminem. I’m sure you’ve heard it, and maybe, like me, you even think the tune is hauntingly catchy. It’s number 1 on the Billboard Hot 100.

But, can we discuss the lyrics for a moment? And, after that, the video?

Here, watch this first:

And now, listen to what I have to say about this:

Perhaps I’m being a little too conservative, or prudish, but I find a song that romanticizes domestic violence to be a bit appalling. The lyrics of this song make it seem that domestic violence is OK, that a woman is accepting it, and frankly, it’s not just any woman—it’s Rihanna, a woman who has experienced domestic violence herself. I find it a bit strange and awkward that she is singing a song about going back to a man who abuses her and saying “that’s OK.”

I also don’t like the sort of trashy and very graphic video. Yay! Domestic abuse is fun because look at how long our tongues are when we kiss each other! Megan Fox, really? Why?

Am I reading into this song, by interpreting it as the condoning of abuse? And, if I’m not, why is this OK?

But when it comes to love
You’re just as blinded
Baby please come back
It wasn’t you
Baby it was me
Maybe our relationship
Isn’t as crazy as it seems
Maybe that’s what happens
When a tornado meets a volcano
All I know is
I love you too much
To walk away though
Come inside
Pick up your bags off the sidewalk
Don’t you hear sincerity
In my voice when I talk
Told you this is my fault
Look me in the eyeball
Next time I’m pissed
I’ll aim my fist
At the dry wall
Next time
There will be no next time
I apologize
Even though I know it’s lies
I’m tired of the games
I just want her back
I know I’m a liar
If she ever tries to f–king leave again
I’mma tie her to the bed
And set the house on fire

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

